Feature Friday: Belle’s Booksleeve

I am an Influencer for Belle and you can use my code DREAM12 to save 💜 Doing so will get me points towards getting a rep sleeve! I did pay for this sleeve shown here myself to do this review. Regardless, all thoughts are my own!

Belle’s Booksleeves is a newer sleeve business who has these plush, unique sleeves! Home of the OG fur sleeves 😉

Belle is a sweetie and her sleeves are good quality! They’re very squishy which I personally love! They’re great for protecting your books, of course, and I also use mine as a stress relief LOL

Check her out and see what she has in stock 💜

Advertisements

Review: Scorched by Jennifer L Armentrout

Synopsis:

Originally published July 2015

Sometimes life leaves a mark…

Most days, Andrea doesn’t know whether she wants to kiss Tanner or punch him in the gut. He is seriously hot, with legit bedroom eyes and that firefighter body of his, but he’s a major player, and they can’t get along for more than a handful of minutes. Until now.

Tanner knows he and Andrea have had an epic love/hate relationship for as long as he can remember, but he wants more love than hate from her. He wants her. Now. Tomorrow. But the more he gets to know her, the more it becomes obvious that Andrea has a problem. She’s teetering on the edge, and every time he tries to catch her, she slips through his fingers.

Andrea’s life is spiraling out of control, and it doesn’t matter that Tanner wants to save her, because when everything falls apart and she’s speeding toward rock-bottom, only she can save herself.

Sometimes life makes you work for that happily ever after…

My Review:

4/5 ⭐️

This book was really cool! Definitely a quick and easy romance book. Jennifer is one of my all time favorite authors so of course I knew I was going to love this book! Tanner is so lust worthy 😍 I honestly really loved this book 😉

~Me when I finally got to pick up this book~

Review: The Princess and the Fangirl by Ashley Poston

I received a copy of this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.

Synopsis:

The Prince and the Pauper gets a modern makeover in this adorable, witty, and heartwarming young adult novel set in the Geekerella universe by national bestselling author Ashley Poston. 

Imogen Lovelace is an ordinary fangirl on an impossible mission: save her favorite character, Princess Amara, from being killed off from her favorite franchise,  Starfield. The problem is, Jessica Stone—the actress who plays Princess Amara—wants nothing more than to leave the intense scrutiny of the fandom behind. If this year’s ExcelsiCon isn’t her last, she’ll consider her career derailed. 

When a case of mistaken identity throws look-a-likes Imogen and Jess together, they quickly become enemies. But when the script for the  Starfield sequel leaks, and all signs point to Jess, she and Imogen must trade places to find the person responsible. That’s easier said than done when the girls step into each other’s shoes and discover new romantic possibilities, as well as the other side of intense fandom. As these “princesses” race to find the script-leaker, they must rescue themselves from their own expectations, and redefine what it means to live happily ever after.

My Review:

5/5 ⭐️ This book releases on April 2nd 2019!

This book was a very cute followup to Geekerella which I enjoyed so dang much. It was great to see more of Jessica!! Pick this one up when it comes out 💜 Imogen was also so cool ✨

Reader Struggles

Hey everyone! I haven’t done a chatty post in a while so I figured I’d pop on and share some recent reader struggles.

I haven’t been able to really get into a book recently 🤷🏻‍♀️ I loved The Belles (if you haven’t read that review go do so 😉) but everything else has been kind of meh lately. I don’t know if it’s just me or the books 🤔

~Me escaping these meh books like~

Regardless I’m still trying to read lol It may just be that some of the books I’ve been tackling aren’t ‘for me’ or haven’t lived up to my own expectations. I’m still plugging along though 😉

Review: The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

Synopsis:

Camellia Beauregard is a Belle. In the opulent world of Orleans, Belles are revered, for they control Beauty, and Beauty is a commodity coveted above all else. In Orleans, the people are born gray, they are born damned, and only with the help of a Belle and her talents can they transform and be made beautiful. 

But it’s not enough for Camellia to be just a Belle. She wants to be the favorite-the Belle chosen by the Queen of Orleans to live in the royal palace, to tend to the royal family and their court, to be recognized as the most talented Belle in the land.

But once Camellia and her Belle sisters arrive at court, it becomes clear that being the favorite is not everything she always dreamed it would be. Behind the gilded palace walls live dark secrets, and Camellia soon learns that the very essence of her existence is a lie-that her powers are far greater, and could be more dangerous, than she ever imagined. And when the queen asks Camellia to risk her own life and help the ailing princess by using Belle powers in unintended ways, Camellia now faces an impossible decision. 

With the future of Orleans and its people at stake, Camellia must decide: save herself and her sisters and the way of the Belles, or resuscitate the princess, risk her own life, and change the ways of her world forever. 

My Review:

5/5 ⭐️

I found this book to be insanely enjoyable!! I didn’t have much expectations for the book since I hadn’t read any of Dhonelle’s previous work. But now I definitely will!! She built such a rich world with intrigue and deception. I loved all of the characters and just… Ahh!! Go read this book please 💜

~Me when anyone would interrupt my reading of this book~

*Spoiler Review* Dry by Neil Shusterman & Jarrod Shusterman

Synopsis:

When the California drought escalates to catastrophic proportions, one teen is forced to make life and death decisions for her family in this harrowing story of survival from New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman and Jarrod Shusterman. 

The drought—or the Tap-Out, as everyone calls it—has been going on for a while now. Everyone’s lives have become an endless list of don’ts: don’t water the lawn, don’t fill up your pool, don’t take long showers. 

Until the taps run dry. 

Suddenly, Alyssa’s quiet suburban street spirals into a warzone of desperation; neighbors and families turned against each other on the hunt for water. And when her parents don’t return and her life—and the life of her brother—is threatened, Alyssa has to make impossible choices if she’s going to survive.

My Review:

3/5 ⭐️

So this is a really cool concept. It’s something that could actually happen very soon which is terrifying. However, I don’t like books where I can skip to the end and get the whole low-down of the book. I tend to get bored and read endings a lot… And not only does no one from the main cast die, but the crisis ends… Like… Ok guys…? So what was the point…? I can compare this to H2O a little bit which has a similar premise but the water is now toxic. At least that one took 2 books for the problem to be sort of resolved. But this… It’s resolved within the 390 pages 😐 Meh.

~Me noping my way out of this book~

Review: Shatter the Sky by LC Ireland

I was sent this book by the author to feature and review. All thoughts are my own.

Synopsis:

Edith was 13 years old when her father gambled her freedom away. Now it’s almost her seventeenth birthday and she will soon be forced to marry her abusive captor, whose past wives have a habit of dying young.

Vadahm’s youth came to an abrupt and horrible end when his mother tried to kill him. A half-breed fae rejected by his people, Vadahm struggles to find his place in the world.

He finds Edith instead.

Their futures are changed forever when Vadahm falls out of the sky and lands in the Bareil’s garden, bringing magic, hope, and a chance at love to Edith’s broken world.

But at a dangerous price…

My Review:

4/5 ⭐️

This was so good! The drawings were absolutely stunning. Such a short read too but it was very well done. If you like short fantasy reads definitely pick this one up! I thought it was so cute!!

~Me smiling at this really adorable book~

Review: Verity by Colleen Hoover

Synopsis:

Lowen Ashleigh is a struggling writer on the brink of financial ruin when she accepts the job offer of a lifetime. Jeremy Crawford, husband of bestselling author Verity Crawford, has hired Lowen to complete the remaining books in a successful series his injured wife is unable to finish. 

Lowen arrives at the Crawford home, ready to sort through years of Verity’s notes and outlines, hoping to find enough material to get her started. What Lowen doesn’t expect to uncover in the chaotic office is an unfinished autobiography Verity never intended for anyone to read. Page after page of bone-chilling admissions, including Verity’s recollection of the night their family was forever altered.  

Lowen decides to keep the manuscript hidden from Jeremy, knowing its contents would devastate the already grieving father. But as Lowen’s feelings for Jeremy begin to intensify, she recognizes all the ways she could benefit if he were to read his wife’s words. After all, no matter how devoted Jeremy is to his injured wife, a truth this horrifying would make it impossible for him to continue to love her.  

Due to graphic scenes and mature content, this book is recommended for readers 18+.

My Review:

5/5 ⭐️

I honestly don’t think I can properly review this book. It was phenomenal! Seriously I don’t think me explaining it will do it justice at all. Just go read it. That ending was… Like wow ok what the hell. Getting this dual narrative and being led by the nose, like Lowen, to a certain point was… Wow. So well done.

~Me being gagged by this whole book~

Review: The Glass Spare by Lauren DeStefano

Synopsis:

The first in a new fantasy duology, The Glass Spare is a gorgeously told tale of love, loss, and deadly power from Lauren DeStefano, the bestselling author of the Chemical Garden series. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Renee Ahdieh.

Wilhelmina Heidle, the fourth child and only daughter of the king of the world’s wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father—whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war—Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance.

Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified—but as she tests its limits, she’s drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, though, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure.

But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with Wil’s power.

With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that’s turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

My Review:

2/5 ⭐️

So… I really wanted to love this book… Truly I did. But I just couldn’t get into it. Wil is SO ANNOYING and honestly nothing happened???? How is that possible you ask? Well, she basically kills a member of her family and then runs away… And that’s basically it? And don’t get me started on her love interest. Just no thanks. I DNFed this book at page 180.

~Me noping right out of this book~

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑