Review: Sweet Black Waves by Kristina Pérez

31179006

Synopsis:

Not you without me, not me without you.

Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what’s right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she’s ever loved.

Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance.

My Review:

4/5 ⭐️

I knocked this down a whole point because of Essie. Seriously, she was ANNOYING. I get she was supposed to be but OOMGGGG like GIRL STOP! Branwen is seriously a saint for putting up with that girl I swear. And speaking of Branwen, she’s so loyal… Loyal to a fault. It kind of sucked how the book ended but I’m hoping Branwen comes into her own and messes stuff uuuppp!!

rdj

~Essie STAHP~

One thought on “Review: Sweet Black Waves by Kristina Pérez

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: