Review: Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Synopsis:

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace- and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia. 

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dusté and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison. 

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can’t control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren’t so clear—.

My Review:

5/5 ⭐️

I honestly loved this book. Probably an influence of SJM so if you like her books read this. So many twists and turns!! The story developed nicely and the character development was absolutely great. I highly recommend you pick this book up!! MOVE OVER CELEANA! It’s Yelena’s time to shine ✨

~Me happily dying for this book~
Advertisements

Review: Warcross by Marie Lu

Synopsis:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down Warcross players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty-hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. To make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation. 

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire. 

In this sci-fi thriller, #1  New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu conjures an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.

My Review:

5/5 ⭐️

I can’t rave about this book enough. The pages are so rich with descriptions and development. That ending was fantastic and I didn’t see it coming! You can see the influence from video games and anime. Honestly, and this may be because I just did a rewatch, I found a few small nods to Code Geass in the story which is awesome because that series doesn’t get a lot of hype anymore imo even with the new movie coming out. I also thought of Tron while reading this and the soundtrack was great to listen to while reading it! (the second movie whose name I have scrubbed from my brain lol)

~Me talking about this book~

Review: The Raven’s Tale by Cat Winters

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Edgar Poe counts down the days until he can escape his foster family―the wealthy Allans of Richmond, Virginia. He hungers for his upcoming life as a student at the prestigious new university, almost as much as he longs to marry his beloved Elmira Royster. However, on the brink of his departure, all his plans go awry when a macabre Muse named Lenore appears to him. Muses are frightful creatures that lead Artists down a path of ruin and disgrace, and no respectable person could possibly understand or accept them. But Lenore steps out of the shadows with one request: “Let them see me!”

My Review:

4/5 ⭐️ This book releases April 16th.

This story was richly dark and everything I didn’t realize I wanted. Uck, so atmospheric!! Please pick this book up if you love Poe as much as I do. It was so interesting and cool to read. Cat Winters weaves myth and reality together so expertly!

~Me enjoying this book~

Review: The Foxhole Court series by Nora Sakavic

Synopsis:

Neil Josten is the newest addition to the Palmetto State University Exy team. He’s short, he’s fast, he’s got a ton of potential — and he’s the runaway son of the murderous crime lord known as The Butcher. Signing a contract with the PSU Foxes is the last thing a guy like Neil should do. The team is high profile and he doesn’t need sports crews broadcasting pictures of his face around the nation. His lies will hold up only so long under this kind of scrutiny and the truth will get him killed. But Neil’s not the only one with secrets on the team. One of Neil’s new teammates is a friend from his old life, and Neil can’t walk away from him a second time. Neil has survived the last eight years by running. Maybe he’s finally found someone and something worth fighting for.

Series order:

The Foxhole Court

The Raven King

The King’s Men

My Review:

5/5 ⭐️

This is a gush about the series as a whole. I picked it up thinking it was an MM romance from the start. BOY was I wrong! It’s a slow burn hurt-comfort series that pays off big time in the last book. You’ll root for all of the characters by the end. I absolutely devoured this series in 3 days and can’t stop thinking about it. It was delectable! I think Andrew is my favorite character since he is so complex and interesting. The issues with Neil though just !! I can’t begin to tell you without spoilers. His growth was amazing.

~Me while reading these books~

Blog Tour, Giveaway, and Review: Spectacle by Jodie Lynn Zdrok



Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Tor Teen (February 12, 2019)


Praise for SPECTACLE

“Clever and full of murder, Jodie Lynn Zdrok’s Spectacle had my eyes glued to the pages as the body count rose, and mystery stacked upon mystery as our heroine closed in on a killer who seemed miles ahead of the Parisian authorities. Fans of serial killers and criminal investigations will find much to love, and fascinating passages about morgue tours will appeal to the morbid rubbernecker in us all.” ―Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

“With a fierce heroine, grisly 19th-century murders, and a mystery that left me on the edge of my seat, Spectacle is an immersive, Parisian, YA From Hell that I absolutely devoured!” ―Gretchen McNeil, author of Ten and #MurderTrending

“Zdrok explores the universal fascination with death, set among the darker corners of 1887 Paris, and the very idea of the morgue viewings (to which parents brought their children) is chilling…Grisly, plot driven―and very creepy. Fans of historical thrillers that invoke the enduring spirit of Jack the Ripper will have fun.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Hints of the murderer’s identity are subtly and intriguingly folded into the story, and unresolved plot threads pave the way for future cases, during which Nathalie can discover more about her powers. The blend of history, mystery, and fantasy makes this debut novel a good pick for fans of Libba Bray’s Diviners series or William Ritter’s Jackaby books.” ―Booklist

“The book seamlessly brings several threads together: the mystery of the murder and the horrors of the killings themselves; the beauty, bustle, and darkness of nineteenth-century Paris (the killer’s pursuit of Nathalie through the catacombs is thrillingly described); the bizarre but historically based practices of morgue viewing and blood transfusions for magic; and the destructive nature of family secrets and their generational effects. …the tension amps up to a gasp-worthy climax.” ―Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Zdrok has concocted an ambitious Victorian-era story. …Intricately plotted, the story’s pace burns slow before racing ahead to set up and topple assumptions about the true identity of the Dark Artist.” ―School Library Journal

A YA murder mystery in which a young reporter must use her supernatural visions to help track down a killer targeting the young women of Paris.

Paris, 1887.

Sixteen-year-old Nathalie Baudin writes the daily morgue column for Le Petit Journal. Her job is to summarize each day’s new arrivals, a task she finds both fascinating and routine. That is, until the day she has a vision of the newest body, a young woman, being murdered–from the perspective of the murderer himself.

When the body of another woman is retrieved from the Seine days later, Paris begins to buzz with rumors that this victim may not be the last. Nathalie’s search for answers sends her down a long, twisty road involving her mentally ill aunt, a brilliant but deluded scientist, and eventually into the Parisian Catacombs. As the killer continues to haunt the streets of Paris, it becomes clear that Nathalie’s strange new ability may make her the only one who can discover the killer’s identity–and she’ll have to do it before she becomes a target herself.

You can purchase Spectacle at the following Retailers:
       

My Review:

4/5 ⭐️

For fans of Stalking Jack the Ripper! Nathalie was an interesting character to read about especially with her trying to navigate her world with her new ability. The writing was very good and the story was interesting. However, I didn’t like the ending and that’s why my rating got bumped down.

Photo Content from Jodie Lynn Zdrok

Jodie Lynn Zdrok holds two MAs in European History (Providence College, Brown University) and an MBA (Clark University). In addition to being an author, she’s a marketing professional, a freelancer, and an unapologetic Boston sports fan. She enjoys traveling, being a foodie, doing sprint triathlons, and enabling cats. She is represented by Ginger Clark of Curtis Brown, Ltd.

  
WEEK ONE
MARCH 25th MONDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW 
MARCH 25th MONDAY Sophie Reads YA REVIEW
MARCH 26th TUESDAY Bibliobibuli YA INTERVIEW 
MARCH 26th TUESDAY Casia’s Corner REVIEW
MARCH 27th WEDNESDAY Sabrina’s Paranormal Palace REVIEW
MARCH 27th WEDNESDAY Wonder Struck REVIEW
MARCH 28th THURSDAY My Bookish Escapades EXCERPT
MARCH 29th FRIDAY Wishful Endings GUEST POST
MARCH 29th FRIDAY Adventures Thru Wonderland REVIEW
WEEK TWO
APRIL 1st MONDAY Nay’s Pink Bookshelf REVIEW 
APRIL 1st MONDAY A Bookish Dream REVIEW
APRIL 2nd TUESDAY A Dream Within a Dream REVIEW
APRIL 2nd TUESDAY BookHounds YA REVIEW & INTERVIEW
APRIL 3rd WEDNESDAY Random Bookish Banter REVIEW & INTERVIEW 
APRIL 3rd WEDNESDAY Bookish in Texas REVIEW
APRIL 4th THURSDAY A Court of Coffee and Books REVIEW
APRIL 4th THURSDAY TTC Books and More EXCERPT
APRIL 5th FRIDAY Movies, Shows, & Books REVIEW

Giveaway is open to International readers. Must be 13+ to enter!

5 winners will receive a copy of SPECTACLE by Jodie Lynn Zdork!

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑