Review: Frostblood by Elly Blake

Synopsis:

This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Red Queen. An “enchanting and fast-paced debut” that “lights up the page with magic, romance, and action.”
Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.
Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating–yet irresistible–Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her–and from the icy young man she has come to love.
Vivid and compelling, Frostblood is the first in an exhilarating series, followed by Firebloodand Nightblood, about a world where flame and ice are mortal enemies…but together create a power that could change everything.
My Review:
3.5/5 ⭐️
So… I found the first about 150 pages to be kind of lackluster. The second part of the book though did pick up for me and I very much enjoyed it. Ruby was a kind of bland character for me though… But in the second half she started to show her strength when faced with danger.
Pick this one up if you are a fan of the Red Queen series!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: